A Disciples Prayer

Mick Turner

I am in the middle of getting myself and Salina, my soon to be four-year-old daughter, ready for church. It is particular challenging as my wife, Li, is in China on a business trip. I wanted, however, to take time to post a prayer written by Stephen Macchia, author of Becoming a Healthy Disciple. I have used this prayer in my own prayer life and have also used it as a focal point of reflective meditation. I have found it especially beneficial and I wanted to share it with you.

Spirit of the living God, fall afresh on me. Melt me, mold me, fill me, use me. Spirit of the living God, fall afresh on me. These simple words of praise are my words today, dear Lord. I long to live in your empowering presence, refreshed in the reality of your Spirit, embracing the fruit of the Spirit, and exhibiting the gifts of the Spirit.

 

I open up myself to the fullness of your Spirit’s power so that I am released to embrace your vision and call. May my daily experiences of life be marked with your abiding presence. And may your power reside within me as I trust you today as my empowering Master and King. All for your glory and in the reflection of your Son’s love, the Lord Jesus Christ. Amen.

 

(prayer quoted from Stephen A. Macchia’s book, Becoming a Healthy Disciple)

 

Leave a Reply

