Tired But Grateful

It is sometimes fascinating to take stock of the quality of a particular day. Today has been such a day. On Tuesdays I am normally running full tilt from about 4 AM until about 5 PM. I work for a small town, weekly newspaper and our two sections, sports and local, go to press on Monday night and Tuesday night respectively. As a result, Mondays and Tuesdays are normally pretty much pedal to the metal.

Today was no exception.

For some reason, I woke up at 2:30 this morning. Normally I get up around 4 AM on Mondays and Tuesdays but I was wide awake much earlier today. I have found that since around noon I have pretty much been functioning as a zombie. I have never felt so sleepy in my life except for a few sleep-deprived times in the Army. It became even worse after around 3 PM. If I sat down for over a couple of minutes without something to write, I fell asleep wherever I happened to be. On at least four occasions I drifted off while sitting in the living room rocker while watching  Sponge Bob with my four-year-old daughter, Salina.

What has been most interesting in all of this is the fact that I have felt very, very peaceful, even though I have been rushed and apparently running on an empty energy tank. The dominant emotion in this peaceful time was actually gratitude. Later in the day, about an hour ago actually, I took about 15 minutes to be alone with God and during that time I just let a spirit of thankfulness flow from my heart. I really was one of those sublime moments when time stops and everything becomes perfectly still. I was and still am grateful for that as well.

Next time you are feeling wiped out energy wise, see what deeper things may be going on in your heart. You may discover something totally out of your expectation.

Blessings in His Light,

Mick

Leave a Reply

