A New Years Prayer

Holy Spirit Stained Glass
Holy Spirit Stained Glass (Photo credit: hickory hardscrabble)

Mick Turner

I first published this prayer back in 2009 and it first appeared here on LifeBrook on New Years Day, 2011. I think it is a powerful little prayer and I have benefited in many ways from its use. I suggest that you give it a try. Like most declarative or affirmative prayers, speak the words with the positive faith and conviction that comes from the awareness that we serve a God of integrity and love, a God who loves us and desires the very best for us:

Today is indeed the first day of a blessed New Year, and today is also the first day of the rest of my life.

I affirm that this year, 2015, will be a year of resurrection, renewal, and restoration and I greet this year with enthusiasm, confidence, and passion. This confident passion arises from my acceptance that in Christ I am a new creation, and that I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Today I know that the old is passing away and that the new has been born. I am a being of Light, Love, and Spirit, committed to spiritual growth, service to others, and to becoming the optimal version of myself.

Today I passionately declare that through the power of the blessed Holy Spirit I am forgetting those things that are behind and reaching forward to those things that are ahead. I press forward into this new year toward the goal and the prize of the upward call of God in Christ.

In the name of Jesus I pray,

Amen.

2 thoughts on “A New Years Prayer

Leave a Reply

