Health Update: Back from the Brink

Superficial dissection of the right side of th...
Superficial dissection of the right side of the neck, showing the carotid and subclavian arteries. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

By the grace of God and the skillful hands of the surgeons involved, Thursday’s procedure was successful. As some of you might recall, the doctors attempted to put a stent in an area of blockage in my subclavian artery on August 2, but were unsuccessful. This past Thursday, they made a second attempt, this time going in through my left wrist as opposed to the groin. The doctors had continued difficulty getting the stent in place and matters were further complicated by the fact that my left arm began to have muscle spasms. Fearing this would possibly lead to a tear in an artery, they withdrew the cath.

A  decision was then made to go back in through the right groin and try again from that angle. This time, after much difficulty, the stent was successfully placed and blood flow was restored in the subclavian artery and also into the mammary by pass graft.

I want to thank everyone for their prayers and well-wishes. I am a firm believer in the efficacy of prayer, especially in matters like this. I will be having one more surgery to clear out an 80 percent blockage of my left carotid artery. This will be done some time in mid-to-late September I think. I will keep you posted.

Blessings in His Light,

Mick

4 thoughts on “Health Update: Back from the Brink

    1. Mick Turner

      Jon:

      Thanks so much for your kind response. I am already feeling better and I am also aware of how blessed I am for having come through all of this without major problems. God is truly awesome (as are the team of doctors he works through).

      Mick

    1. Mick Turner

      John:

      Thanks so much for your kind response. Indeed, God is truly awesome, as are the doctors he works through and all of you who offered up prayers in my behalf. Thanks so much for praying for me and for my family. My readers are also pretty awesome!

      Mick

Leave a comment